Madhya Pradesh, Sikkim, Kerala BJP chiefs appointed

Madhya Pradesh, Sikkim, Kerala BJP chiefs appointed
Spread the love

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president JP Nadda appointed Vishnu Datt Sharma as the party’s Madhya Pradesh unit chief on Saturday. Sharma, an MP from Khajuraho, has replaced incumbent Rakesh Singh, who is also parliamentarian from Jabalpur.

Vishnu Datt Sharma replaced Jabalpur Lok Sabha MP Rakesh Singh, who had been serving as the state BJP president from April 2018.

Vishnu Datt Sharma, who is popularly known as VD, is a staunch follower of the RSS and began his political career with the Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad. He is credited for strengthening the ABVP, the students’ wing of the RSS, in Madhya Pradesh in the 1990s.

Besides Madhya Pradesh, JP Nadda has also appointed Dal Bahadur Chauhan and K Surendran as new presidents of the party’s Sikkim and Kerala units.

Surendran was the state general secretary of the party in Kerala and rose to prominence during the Sabarimala agitation

Kerala BJP has got a state president after a gap of over three months.

Born on March 10, 1970 in Kozhikode’s Ulliyeri, Surendran’s political career began through the ABVP.

After completing his graduation in B.Sc in Chemistry from Guruvayoorappan College in Kozhikode, Surendran became a fulltime politician through Yuva Morcha. He has served as the Kerala Yuva Morcha chief and leads many agitation. The Kerala unit chief’s tenure will be till 2023.

The BJP emerged as a major political force in Sikkim during Chauhan’s first term as the state unit chief.



Right Click Disabled!